Supervarious

Review books, films, music,…

Summer 2015

Every summer is special. But this summer was surely incredible. The last summer like that I experienced in 2003, the summer after I graduated from school (which is the best you’ll ever have). The heat, the totally bearable lightness of being (sorry Milan Kundera!), and the smell of coconut and suncream on your skin are usually the things we associate with summer, and this one in particular. But summers also differ in that they provide us with a certain piece of music, clothing, or an exceptionally good book that will help us remember what we felt like during that time. So what was it this year for you? What will you associate with the summer 2015 when it gets cold and dreary outside? What will help you remember? What will make you cherish the memory of this wonderful summer 2015?

24 comments on “Summer 2015

  1. christianegassenbauer
    September 21, 2015

    Okay so here two songs I will associate with this summer. They both featured on my playlist for the US. I just wanted to have some songs that are perfect for driving a cool car along a very long and dry highway. The first one is a classic. I chose the newer remix (which can also be found on the soundtrack of the movie “Cars”) because of the cool gitar riffs.
    The second song is one of my favourite songs in general, by the amazing Kings of Leon. It entails everything I associate with the US and a warm summer night in the south. Enjoy!

  2. Regina Zehetner
    September 21, 2015

    First, I thought reading couldn’t be such exciting. But that was until I read the book “Die Bestimmung Tödliche Wahrheit”. I read it while lying on the beach and I couldn’t stop. Always, when I think about my holidays I remember that moment, when I was lying on the beach and reading that great book.

  3. Patrizia Heiter
    September 22, 2015

    This summer I was for eight days in Italy ( Toscana) with my family. There we visited San Gimignano, Siena and Massa Marittima. Our accommodation was twenty kilometers away from the beach of Follonica. On the way home we made a layover in pisa to see the leaning tower. There I bought a cloth with all the places we have visited. Whenever I see this souvenir I remember this great holiday.

  4. Lisa Aigner
    September 22, 2015

    When I read this blogpost, I started to think about a thing that was indispensable for me this summer. Quickly, my blue jumpsuit from H&M came into my mind. I´ve never worn jumpsuits before but this summer I completly became a jumpsuit-lover. A jumpsuit is so uncomplicated to wear and you don´t have to think of “Oh, what t-shirt should I wear to these shorts?”. You just wear one piece and you are completly dressed, that´s what I really enjoy about it. I also enjoyed wearing it during my summer holidays on the island Crete in Greece because it was so comfortable to wear even on the extremely hot days.
    I think this jumpsuit was probably one of the best investments in my life.

    • christianegassenbauer
      September 22, 2015

      OMG jumpsuit are so awesome! I have one too and now I totally understand what babies must feel like in their onesies 🙂 It’s like wearing pajamas, soooo comfortable! But going to the toilet, that’s a challenge….

  5. sarasteiner
    September 22, 2015

    This summer we had a little building site in front of our house. My family and I worked there together. We placed flat stones on the ground of our car park in front of the house and it was really funny because we mixed concrete with cement, sand and water to fix the stones and my sister splashed the water at us. Our clothes were wet, but we just laughed and had fun.
    Now always when I see the amazing new ground in front of our house I remember that great time we had this summer.

  6. Katharina Gerl
    September 22, 2015

    This summer I was two days in Germany with my family. We relaxed in the “Therme Erding”. So i decided to read a book and it was “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green. This was the first written englisch book I voluntarily read. The book is really emotional but also sad. It made me think a lot about how lucky I actually could be because nobody of my family ever had cancer. I will never forget how fast i read this book because actually when I am reading a book it takes 3-4 weeks. 😉 This book always will remind me of the summer 2015.

  7. Jana Schwertner
    September 22, 2015

    In Summer 2015 my family and I spent four days in Paris. There we did a lot of sightseeing like visiting the Eiffel Tower or going for a walk at the Champs-Elysees. We also were shopping at a very big shopping mall and there I saw a beautiful bag I had always been looking for. So, I bought the bag and every time I carry it with me I remember our holidays in this beautiful and romantic city.

  8. Eva-Maria Miely
    September 22, 2015

    I will always remember my holidays because of a hat. A beautiful, amazing, violet hat. My family and I went to Ireland for two weeks. At the end of our trip we stayed at Dublin for two and a half days. We went shopping to the Grafton Street and there at Mark and Spencers I found my new love this hat. We all had a wonderful time and now when I want to remember these holidays and a great time in Ireland I just have to look at this hat.

  9. Julia Schmidt
    September 22, 2015

    This summer I went to a festival for the first time and I get so many different impressions there. Good and bad. First I want to say that the whole festival was an overwhelming experience. I was at the Lake Festival in Graz where some of the best DJs played, I think. The stages were as good as the DJs.Also the lake was good to refresh yourself but only the first day because the other days we weren´t allowed to go in anymore. You probably ask why or maybe you know it already.There was a terrible accident.A 17 year old boy drowned.That was one of the bad moments. When I think back to this summer Lake Festival is the first thing I think of. This is not only because of having great fun there but also because this event made me think about many things. I had to think about the meaning of true friendship and I realized how short life can be and that you should do everything you want to do.

  10. Katharina Cizek
    September 22, 2015

    In summer I was on a Medieval Market with my Family. There we visited a friend who is part of a group of vikings. It was great to see all this special costumes and jewelry. There I found myself a fibula. A fibula is a brooch for fastening garments. It’s gold with ribbon interlace. It’s so beautiful and I will always remember summer 2015 when I look at it or wear it.

  11. Lisa Schachermair
    September 22, 2015

    This summer I was working at a home for the aged.
    Firstly in the morning I had to clean all the rooms of the seniors. Later in the afternoon I played and talked with the old people, which was very funny. But in the morning I had to clean all the 21 rooms, it was very boring. Nevertheless, I found a solution for this problem. Always when I was cleaning I listened to music. That was great. My favourite song was “Shut up and Dance”, by Walk the Moon. This song was always motivating me and I thought about something different.
    Whenever I hear this song I´m very happy and I´m motivated.

  12. Nina Kraus
    September 23, 2015

    Everytime I look at the sky and see an airplane I remember the first flight in my life. Traveling by plane had been a big dream of mine since I was young. When I got in and sat down on my seat I was very excited and a little bit nervous because I couldn’t imagine that I would ever sit in such a big plane. I got a seat at the window (lucky me! :)) and the view was really amazing! I’m so happy about this great experience. The week in Turkey was great and the weather was really hot.

  13. Judith Hochrainer
    September 23, 2015

    This summer my friends and I celebrated Chrisi’s 18th birthday.
    It was quite fun to think about how to prepare an unforgettable day. In the end we decided to make a personal concert for her. Everyone sang a song at midnight while we were sitting round the bonfire. Some of her friends had written a song for her and the others covered one, with which she associates some special moments.
    It was overwhelming to hear the different voices and the several ways to say how happy we are to know someone like her.
    We all took part at her 18th birthday and hope that it was an awesome day.
    Everytime I hear one of that songs I remember this amazing night.

  14. magdalenagrillkiefer
    September 23, 2015

    This summer started for me with a rather not so joyful event. I had an operation. Like expected, the following days in the hospital weren´t really pain-free and when I had taken all my pills against the pain, there was just one more thing which could help me: a piece of dark cookie-cream-chocolate. I think it helped me so much because first, it tasted so intensive, in the moment I bit in it I could barely think about anything else except chocolate! Secondly, it reminded me of my two best friends because it was one of the supercute presents I got from them when they visited me. And that was the good side of that experience: It showed me one more time how great my family and friends are! I was almost never alone because they visited me every single day!
    And that’s how a bar of “Lindt hello dark chocolate cookies”-chocolate, my family and my best friends made my visit at the hospital to an event that I like to remember!

  15. Verena Grabler
    September 23, 2015

    Playing paintball in Ampflwang (strictly speaking at the ‘Hausruckpark’) with some friends was the best thing I did during the holidays and I will always remember that! When we arrived there we got an introduction how to use the guns and where we had to be careful. Afterwards we chose which sort of game we wanna play (we tried four different game types). It was exhausting, great fun and honestly very painful. When the bullets didn’t burst you got bruises which could be easily seven cm in diameter. I still have two bruises but hey… I’m sure that I’m gonna do this again. 😉

  16. Theresa Helmberger
    September 23, 2015

    In the hollidays our house became bigger. It sounds a little bit crazy but it’s true! Some time ago my family and I had the feeling that it is a little bit too small for us six so we decided to build a winter garden with a bigger kitchen, dining room and two more children’s rooms. It was really hard because of the extremely hot weather and the hope to finish before the winter comes. So nearly every day some friends or family members came to help us and worked in these really hight temperatures.
    The bad thing was that every time when the builders worked on the roof or somewhere I couldn’t go swimming in our pool because it’s not polite when they had to sweat while I relaxed in the cold pool 😦
    So the job for my mum an me was to cook a huge amount of food and to bring cold beer for the workers. But I have to say that we all together were very hard-working and the winter garden is nearly finished (I have to say that now it’s 8pm and there are three elctricians in the house who want to work still late at night).
    In the end I can say that it was a very busy summer and I really look forward to sitting in the new big rooms, looking outside at the beautiful white winter landscape and remember the hard work in summer 2015 🙂

  17. ChristineSteffek
    September 24, 2015

    The Song “I don’t like it, i love it” by Flo Rida ft. Robin Thicke will always remind me of this beautiful Summer 2015!
    I love listening to it all the time and i can’t stop!
    When my Family and I made a trip to Italy, we listened to this song all the time , while we were driving!
    This Song just makes me happy and is the best motivation to start the day in a positive way.
    When i listen to this song, it reminds me of the great adventures and the big dea, beach and Sunsets every evening.
    This Summer was one of the bests ever*-*

  18. ChristineSteffek
    September 24, 2015
  19. Kathrin Vitzthum
    October 11, 2015

    I could probably write a whole book about my summer and bore you all so.. what I did to make myself remember the beautiful times is making two photo books of the places I’ve been to (Thailand & Cambodia and Malta)
    My school calender is also full of pictures. There’s one on every page reminding me of certain priceless moments. So every time the weather outside is lousy or when I’m having a rough day or most importantly when I’m missing all the amazing people I met who grew so incredibly dear to me I just have to look at those photos and I would immediately feel warm inside. It makes me feel connected to all of them which we all are and this is something that keeps me going, always.

    Waiting for a star to fall of Boy meets Girl will always bring me back to my time in Malta as we’ve been listening to it over and over again

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhxF9Qg5mOU and also Shine by Years and Years

    As for Thailand its probably every song of Blue! Or else I will probably remember my time there when I’m hearing any thai song -> seriously they don’t listen to anything else then their own music! Except of one song from Stromae but I can’t remember which one it was.

    • christianegassenbauer
      October 11, 2015

      You know, I would have never expected you to be a fan of the 80s 🙂 You never cease to surprise me!

      • Kathrin Vitzthum
        October 12, 2015

        I looove the 80s and the 90s 🙂

        And I have something I wanted to share with you. I’m sure you recognize the song
        I just really like this remix… its like filling me up completely. Kygo is awesome – I should really thank a friend of mine for introducing me to him!!
        I hope others are enjoying it too 🙂

  20. christianegassenbauer
    October 13, 2015

    Oooooo sounds like a great song for running!

    Oh my gosh the 80s and 90s… The 80s at least had style, even if I don’t like it, but there’s really no excuse for the 90s 🙂 When I think about the music I used to listen to and the clothes I was wearing…. So embarrassing! Although not everything was horrible. There were some cool bands in the 90s as well like Nirvana or Guns ‘n’ Roses. But don’t get me started on Eurodance 😉

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2015 by .